Harambee Starlets: Olympic qualifiers preps get underway

The Kenya women’s football team, Harambee Starlets, that reported for camp on Sunday will be without three key players, who are injured.

Winnie Kanyotu, Elizabeth Wambui and Wincate Kaari, have been ruled out of this week’s camp, following injuries they picked up during last weekend’s women premier league matches.

The team is shaping up ahead of the upcoming Olympics qualifier against Malawi. A total of 31 out of 39 players initially called up took part in the team’s first training session on Monday afternoon

The team is set to break camp on Friday ahead of this weekend’s WPL matches, with yet another camp scheduled for next week.

Kenya is slated to face Malawi in the first leg on 28 August, with the second leg set to be played on 1 September.

Starlets got a bye in the first round, and will be up against either of Gabon or Ghana in the third round should they pass the Malawi test.

The team will hold a five-day residential camp, with training sessions scheduled to be held at Camp Toyoyo, before they break on 19 July, to their respective clubs for their weekend WPL matches.

Kenya got a bye in the first round and will have either of Gabon or Ghana in their way in the third round should they pass the Malawi test.

The qualifying tournament, which is in its fifth edition, will determine which team gains qualification to the 2020 Summer Olympics in Japan.

Provisional Squad


Wilfrida Seda (Vihiga Queens), Judith Osimbo (Gaspo Youth), Elizabeth Atieno (Wadadia), Annette Kundu (Eldoret Falcons), Lilian Awuor (Vihiga Queens)


Lilian Adera (Vihiga Queens), Maureen Khakasa (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Vivian Nasaka (Vihiga Queens), Inez Mango (Vihiga Queens), Dorcas Sikobe (Oserian), Esther Nadika (Gaspo), Lucy Akoth (Mathare United Women), Lidiah Nasike (Makolanders), Lydia Akoth (Thika Queens), Stella Anyango (Gaspo)


Myline Awuor (Vihiga Queens), Sheril Angachi (Gaspo), Cynthia Shilwatso (Vihiga Queens), Vivian Corazone (Gaspo), Yvonne Kavere (Soccer Queens), Cynthia Matekwa (Nyuki Starlets), Janet Bundi (Eldoret Falcons), Rebecca Akinyi (Oserian Ladies), Maurine Achieng (Vihiga Queens), Martha Amunyolete (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Bertha Omita (Kisumu All Starlets), Mwanahalima Adam (Thika Queens), Rachael Muema (Thika Queens), Elizabeth Wambui (Thika Queens)


Topista Nafula (Vihiga Queens), Tumaini Waliaula (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Mercy Airo (Kisumu All Starlets), Phoebe Owiti (Vihiga Queens), Terry Engesha (Vihiga Queens), Susan Muhonja (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Cynthia Achieng (Kisumu All Starlets), Winnie Kanyotu (Gaspo Youth), Elizabeth Katungwa (Kwale Girls)


Share Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By Same Author